The mind is willing (and wanting) but the flesh is weak

MY FOOT HURTS!  I’ve described my pain and heard a lot of diagnosis…metatarslagia, morton’s neuroma, stress fracture, plantar’s wart…personally, I’m rooting for the latter!

So it’s Sunday, a little chilly, but the sun is shining.  It’s perfect running weather!  I decide to be an adult and not run.  I do yoga, take a shower, go shopping and can’t believe I’m wasting this beautiful day when I should be doing 8.  That’s what my running plan says–8 mile, easy run.

There are so many FaceBook posts from the ladies in my running club, “I ran 9”, “10 mile trail run”, “9 on the treadmill”….UGH!  So, I did what any reasonable (not so much) person would do, I put on my Brooks and went for a run.  The first half mile was fine, but it went downhill from there.  As soon as I hit mile 2, I couldn’t take it anymore.  The pain in my right foot was ridiculous. I started to walk the half mile home.  I gave running one more try, and abandoned it completely to walk home in total frustration.

Run was a failure!

Leave a comment